Events Calendar | The Monroe News


Art Exhibit "Abstract Realism: Perspective of God’s Creation"

Thu, Feb 23, 2017

Additional Times

  • Mon, Feb 20, 2017
  • Tue, Feb 21, 2017
  • Wed, Feb 22, 2017
  • Fri, Feb 24, 2017
  • More Times
  • Sat, Feb 25, 2017
  • Sun, Feb 26, 2017
  • Mon, Feb 27, 2017
  • Tue, Feb 28, 2017
  • Wed, Mar 1, 2017
  • Thu, Mar 2, 2017
  • Fri, Mar 3, 2017
  • Sat, Mar 4, 2017
  • Sun, Mar 5, 2017
  • Mon, Mar 6, 2017
  • Tue, Mar 7, 2017
  • Wed, Mar 8, 2017
  • Thu, Mar 9, 2017
  • Fri, Mar 10, 2017
  • Sat, Mar 11, 2017
  • Sun, Mar 12, 2017
  • Mon, Mar 13, 2017
  • Tue, Mar 14, 2017
  • Wed, Mar 15, 2017
  • Thu, Mar 16, 2017
  • Fri, Mar 17, 2017
  • Sat, Mar 18, 2017
  • Sun, Mar 19, 2017
  • Mon, Mar 20, 2017
  • Tue, Mar 21, 2017
  • Wed, Mar 22, 2017
  • Thu, Mar 23, 2017
  • Fri, Mar 24, 2017
  • Sat, Mar 25, 2017
  • Sun, Mar 26, 2017
  • Mon, Mar 27, 2017
  • Tue, Mar 28, 2017
  • Wed, Mar 29, 2017
  • Thu, Mar 30, 2017
  • Fri, Mar 31, 2017
The David Larkins art exhibit "Abstract Realism: Perspective of God’s Creation" will be on display Feb. 20 through March 31 in the gallery at the Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary Motherhouse, 610 W. Elm Ave.
Monroe artist Mr. Larkins, said IHM, “has always been intrigued by the luminosity and transparencies found in watercolor and acrylic media.”
He said, “I believe an artist must experience the painting – absorb the surroundings, the atmosphere and completely connect with the subject matter before the first brush stroke is applied. My style is described as ‘Abstract Realism’ and my strength is found in the composition.”
“I’m drawn to diverse subject matter that challenges viewers to see abstraction in the ordinary – to meld the ‘real’ world with the ‘abstract.’ I consider it my role to introduce viewers to different levels of awareness and appreciation.”
An opening reception will take place from 5:30 to 7 p.m. Monday. The public is welcome.
The exhibit is free and open to the public from 10:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays and by appointment Saturdays.
For more information, contact Sharon Venier at (734) 240-9754 or svenier@ihmsisters.org.
Click